Thursday, 20 December 2012

Fairest by Gail Carson Levine

" Voices and faces aren't manifestations of good or bad. " - Fairest


Fairest by Gail Carson Levine is set in the fictional Kingdom of Ayortha. In Ayortha a person is judged on their appearance and their voice, it is considered normal for one to just break into a song in the middle of conversations. The main girl, Ava, has a beautiful voice however she is not so lucky with her looks. Ava always feels embarrassed and is very harsh on herself, all she longs for is to be beautiful. When she gets the opportunity to travel to the castle the Queen grows fond of her however but for the wrong reasons. The Queen quickly learns of Ava's secret ability and uses it for her own benefit. Ava also finds out the Queen's secrets and she too uses it for her own good. Both will learn that with any action, potion and spells comes great consequences. 

I read this book in under 3 hours. The plot was simple and the language was very easy and simple. By this description I do not mean to say the book was bad or even boring but I am stating these facts so that you can decide if you would like to read the book. I personally like reading these books when I don't want to spend too much of my time reading or when I want a cheesy, cute book just to pass my time.

Saturday, 17 November 2012

King of Shadows by Susan Cooper


King of Shadows by Susan Cooper is about an 11 year-old boy who is part of the Company of boys, a group of boys who are rehearsing to perform Shakespeare’s plays. It is first set in the late 20th century but after Nathan gets the Bubonic plague, he goes back in time to 1599. He works with William Shakespeare and makes new friends, but he still misses his life in the 20th century. He also wonders if he will ever be able to return to his old life. Everything is so different in the 16th; no light bulbs or television and very brutal punishments. So how is he supposed to act like a boy from the Elizabethan Era?

Sunday, 21 October 2012

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

“Happiness is not a possession to be prized, it is a quality of thought, a state of mind.” - Rebecca

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier is a classic gothic novel. It follows a young woman (not named) who marries a wealthy man widow, Maxim de Winter. She moves to his house in Manderley and finds it very hard to fit in. She thinks everyone is judging and comparing her to Rebecca. All the things in the house are Rebecca's and everywhere she goes she knows Rebecca would have done it. Worst of all Maxim is getting more and more distant and she believes that he was never really in love with her but he still loves Rebecca. It seems that even the dead can win.

I will go straight to the point; I didn't like this book. I really don't get why this has become such a famous literature. It may be that I am still too young to fully comprehend the whole story of Rebecca, but I just found it wasn't as mysterious or as captivating as a gothic book should be. 

Tuesday, 16 October 2012

The Distant Hours by Kate Morton

“Sometimes, Edie, a person's feelings aren't rational. At least, they don't seem that way on the surface. You have to dig a little deeper to understand what lies at the base” 

The Distant Hours by Kate Morton is a Gothic novel. Edie Burchill is curious about the reaction from her mother when she received a long lost letter. It was set between 1939 and 1992. Edie knows nearly nothing from her mother's mysterious past. It all leads to the Milderhurst Castle, Edie feels a strange pull towards this place. When she takes a tour around the house she realises that there are many more secrets hidden by the stone walls of the castle. Secrets that fascinate her about the sister that live there and their family!

The novel by Kate Morton made me realise how much I adore the Gothic genre!

Monday, 8 October 2012

Eve (the Eve Trilogy) by Anna Carey

“A relationship between two people can be judged by the list of things unspoken between them.”  - Eve

Eve by Anna Carey is the first in the Eve Trilogy. The story is set in 2032, in the New America after a plague (and its vaccine that was meant to help) killed most of the world's population. The U.S.A is now ruled by a King. Girls and boys are completely separated into schools. Eve, the protagonist, is graduating from school and hopes to become a great painter. One day before graduation one of her colleagues shares her plans and knowledge with Eve. It seems that the King nor the teachers are telling the truth. Everything she believed in is a lie. Eve escapes all of this and meets Caleb. They fall in love but with them being fugitives she must choose between safety and love. 

This book is AMAZING!! I don't really know exactly where this books achieves this success or how Anna Carey did it but I just found I was completely absorbed by the book and the characters. I read non stop and finished it in less than a day. I would burst out at random moments screaming for Eve or Caleb, I was nearly crying at the end when Caleb was leaving. This is seriously such a cute, sweet book for all the dreamers and thinkers out there.

Mac Slater, Cool Hunter by Tristan Bancks


" Sometimes you've got to do the wrong thing to do the right thing, and I'd convinced Paul that this was the right thing. I just wasn't so sure I'd convinced myself." - Mac Slater, Cool Hunter


Mac Slater, Cool Hunter (I Heart NY) by Tristan Bancks. It is the story of Mac and Paul. Previously they had won a competition to become a cool hunter, someone who finds cool stuff and vlogs on the Coolhunters website. In winning the competition he gets to fly to New York for a week, all expenses paid; as long as they find cool stuff to upload. The first day everything goes wrong, the next day their luck seems to be changing. Mac finds a whole group of people inventing the coolest things ever but this time he must keep it a secret. 

I actually only read the second book in the series. I didn't even think it was a series; the title on the cover basically says mac slater, cool hunter there is a tiny writing saying "2 I <3 NY", i just thought this was part of the graphics. Other than that there was no mention of it being a series. 

I found this book really, really weak. I kept on reading and waiting for it to reach a climax but I didn't really think it go to it.

Thursday, 4 October 2012

Cross My Heart by Sasha Gould

"In Venice, a secret is indeed more powerful than a sword. " - Cross My Heart

Cross my Heart by Sasha Gould is set during the Italian Renaissance. Laura della Scala, the protagonist, is sent to the convent at the age of 10. When her sister dies her father calls her back home to marry her sister's fiancée. Laura despises whom she is to marry, he is completely disgusting. However, all her father cares about is wealth and power. Laura finds out about someone who can help her; they call themselves the Segreta, a secret society of women all they ask is a secret. At the start they seem to help but soon she realises that it may not have been all good. She thinks they link up to the murder of her sister. 

This book will have a similar review to a recent book review I wrote about Ever . It is a very quick read with a short plot. There was quite a lot of mystery but I wouldn't say it was a complex novel. At the end things got quite gruesome but overall I found the story very cute and romantic. 

Monday, 1 October 2012

Ever by Gail Carson Levine

"Fate...may...be...thwarted. [...] I long...for..a happy outcome" - Ever.

Ever by Gail Carson Levine is the intertwining story of Olus, God of the wind, and Kezi, a normal village girl. Olus is much younger than the rest of the gods and longs to live with the mortal humans. One day, when living in Hyte he falls in love with Kezi. Kezi's love for him is reciprocal. Her days, however, are numbered because of an unbreakable oath. This is the story of their love and race to change fate. 

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

"A birth is not really a beginning. Our lives at the start are not really our own but only the continuation of someone else's story.” - The Thirteenth Tale.

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. This is quite a suspenseful plot where I cannot dwell much into the plot without giving away the experience. Basically it is the story of Vida Winter, a storyteller with a mysterious past. She finally decides that it is time to come clean. Her story might be even bigger and better then all the fictional stories she has told. 

I was told to read this for school. My teacher told me that this was a really good book and a very quick read I had my doubts since I don't really share the same taste in books with my teacher. However, this book I found really interesting. The part about the quick read didn't really apply for me though. The words itself were pretty easy but the way they were arranged made it a bit hard for me, I had to re-read some paragraphs quite a bit of times. I do have a friend who read it in one day and I was really surprised about that and mind you, I'm quite a quick reader. 

The plot was amazingly good!

Battle of Britain - Harry Woods, England 1939-1941 by Chris Priestley



Battle of Britain by Chris Priestley is part of the My Story series. This book is set in England during mid 20th Century. It is the life of a young man during World War II whose love for flying gets him to enlist for the RAF. 

This book really let me down. This review had a very short plot summary and will probably be a short review because really the plot felt short. The books in the My Story series are usually a short read, however this time the plot was so short that it just skipped on the details.

Bloody Tower - The Diary of Tilly Middleton, London 1553-1559 by Valerie Wilding


Bloody Tower; The Diary of Tilly Middleton by Valerie Winding is about the short lived reigns of Lady Jane Grey and Queen Mary as well as how Queen Elizabeth I came to the throne. The story is told through the eyes of the young Tilly Middleton who lives in the castle as her father is the physician.


This novel is part of the My Story series and like I said in my last blog, I really like that series. There are many things that are found in all of the books in the series that I really like and find useful, such as the timeline and historical background notes at the end. (More on that can be found on my last blog on the ' Anne Boleyn and Me.') I was lucky that by chance I read this one straight after the story of Anne Boleyn and Me, because it gave the story more flow and I had a bit of background reading going into this book. 

Now, about this specific book; I found that it was good but it wasn't the best of the series. The book's plot left a bit to wish

Tuesday, 25 September 2012

Anne Boleyn and Me - The Diary of Elinor Valjean, London 1525-1536 by Alison Prince


Anne Boleyn and Me by Alison Prince is part of the My Story series. The story is about eleven year old, Elinor Valjean. Elinor lives as a member of the royal court under the reign of King Henry VIII. Her mother is Queen Catherine's friend and favourite lady in waiting while her father is court jester. The story is set in London through 1525 to 1536 when Henry VIII wanted to divorce his wife, Catherine of Aragon and marry Anne Boleyn. The story follows the conflicts and the rise and fall of Catherine and Anne Boleyn through the eyes of a young servant girl.
The My Story series is one of my favourite historical fiction series and this book was one of the best of the series. It provided a very insightful look into that time period and I learnt so much. The book even made me empathise with characters that I probably wouldn't have if I was researching about Henry VII and his divorces through the internet or through a history textbook. 
 
Apart from the story itself there are a few points I would like to make.

Monday, 24 September 2012

Shakespeare's Apprentice by Veronica Bennett

"My love can never marry a player," said Sam. "But she loves me because I am a player."

Shakespeare's Apprentice by Veronica Bennett is about a teenage boy called Sam Gilbourne. He works in Shakespeare's theatre as an actor. One day, he sees Lucie Cheetham and falls in love with her and she loves him back. But he is a player and she is Lord Essex's niece so they can't get married. They secretly meet and send letters to each other. But will they be able to overcome any obstacle to be together?
This book is set in England from the late 1598 to early 1601. It is historical fiction and romance. Although it is set in the past, it does not have Old English, except for the dialogue, so it is easy to understand. It is written in third person. 

I thought that the first 80 pages were boring. The book got a lot better in the middle but also got a bit repetitive. The first few pages were hard for me to understand because there were so many names so it was hard to remember the characters at the beginning. But after I finished the book, I went back to those pages and it was much easier to understand. This story is very similar to Romeo and Juliet except for the ending. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to know what life was like in the Shakespeare's theatre company or likes reading romance books. 

Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

"What's in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet" - Romeo and Juliet 2.2
Romeo and Juliet by Shakespeare is one of the most well known plays (so I'll keep the summary short). Two adolescents from rival families fall in love. Their love is forbidden so they  get married undercover. Romeo, albeit trying to keep the peace, ends up killing Juliet's cousin and gets banished from Verona. The friar helps Juliet to reunite with Romeo. He gives Juliet a potion that will make her seem dead, then  after her funeral she will wake up and they will be able to elope. The plan goes wrong when the messenger is detained in one of the cities because of fear of spreading the plague and Romeo arrives where Juliet lies and kills himself. Juliet wakes up and and seeing Romeo kills herself. 


First of all I apologize at the beginning if I end up just calling Romeo and Juliet a novel instead of a play, it is quite a habit I need to get out of; it is hard since I'm used a play being what I watch and a novel is what I read. This review could easily be one of the longest I write because of the in depth study I did in class on the play. There are so many themes and ideas explored in the play. It isn't just about love but also about hate and how it achieves nothing, it is about people leading lives through emotions instead of reason, adolescent rebellion, the law judging and restoring peace and so much more. Shakespeare's language is also highly regarded, throughout most of his play he uses the iambic pentameter, poetry and uses rhyme to highlight importance of the dialogue. It would be easy to write  pages on the topics I just mentioned however this is what everyone will study in school or read on the internet and I'm taking a different spin on this review

Monday, 10 September 2012

Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie

“Never say goodbye because goodbye means going away and going away means forgetting.” 

Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie is a well known classical book. All children grow up but one, Peter Pan. Peter lives in the Neverland. One day, in one of his trips to hear stories told in the Darling's house he gets caught and loses his shadow. When he returns to get back his shadow, Wendy is awoken by the sounds of Peter crying. Wendy helped Peter sow on his shadow and Peter realising the importance of a mother figure asks her to go with him and be his mother and mother to the lost boys. Wendy and her two brothers were very excited and with a bit of fairy dust they fly their way to the Neverland. 

In the version of the book I read there were two stories; Peter in Kensington Gardens and Peter and Wendy. This book was one of the most confusing books. I had watched the movie and cartoon versions of Peter Pan and so I was expecting something similar. However, when I first start reading the narrators are the Davies brothers and they talk about things like baby castle where the most sought up baby lives by herself and all these baby attractions in the kensington gardens, it felt like I was reading the wrong book. Finally when I read the name Peter Pan I was relieved, but not for long. Peter Pan was completely different to what I was expecting. Firstly he was only a week old, he wore no clothes, he rode a goat, he lived with the birds because everyone was a bird who flew to their parents' home and there turned into humans.

Monday, 3 September 2012

Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson

“Didn't help to ponder things that were forever gone. It only made a body restless and fill up with bees, all wanting to sting something.”  - Chains

Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson is a historical fiction novel set in 1776 during the American Revolution. It follows the story of thirteen-year-old girl, Isabel. Her mistress has just died and although this is a mournful period it is also a happy celebration because in her will Isabel and her sister were freed. However, the mistress' relatives do not know this and do not want to know this and sell Isabel and her sister to the highest bidders, who turn out to be a loyalist couple returning back to New York, the Lockton. Mrs Lockton disregards any human emotions of Isabel and uses her cruelly. One day when Mrs Lockton sells Isabel's sister, Isabel turns against her 'owners' and spies on them. 

Friday, 24 August 2012

Red Riding Hood by Sarah Blakley-Cartwright


'If the innocent are unjust, I'd rather be counted among the guilty.-Valerie'

Red Riding Hood by Sarah Blakley-Cartwright is gothic twist to well known fairytale of Little Red Riding Hood. Valerie lived in a small village, it was just like any town except for one thing- every full moon people lock themselves and leave an offering for the wolf. On a certain night there is a red moon, then the next day someone had been killed by the wolf. When Father Auguste, the expert on werewolves, comes to their village he teaches the villagers about the wolf's way of life and suddenly everyone becomes a suspect. Valerie finds that she can now hear the wolf talk to her. Who is the wolf.

I really do ask, who is the wolf?!?! I didn't do any research beforehand so i ignorantly believed that like most stories the book comes first and then the movie. However, this wasn't the case with this novel. I really wish I knew this before because I probably wouldn't have read it.

Thursday, 23 August 2012

Arthur: The Seeing Stone by Kevin Crossley-Holland

''Each of us needs a quest, and a person without one is lost to himself.''

Arthur: The Seeing Stone is about a 13 year old boy called Arthur, who lives in the Middle Ages. He wants to be a squire (a knight's attendant) and be betrothed to Grace but his father has other plans for him. His problems increase when Merlin, his friend, gives him a magical and mysterious obsidian stone. On the stone, Arthur can see things. The stone shows him a story but he doesn't know why and how it is connected to him. This is the first book in the trilogy and it is about Arthur trying to find out what the stone is showing him  and what is going to happen to him in real life. 

Wednesday, 15 August 2012

So You Want to Be a Wizard by Diane Duan


"Reading one book is like eating one potato chip," she said. (Mrs. Lesser to Nita.)


So You Want to Be a Wizard by Diane Duane. The library is a refuge for Nita. She has read, more than once, all books in the junior section. One day, when trying to hide from Joanne- the bully - she was surprised to find a book she'd never read. It was part of the So You Want to Be a ... This time it was So You Want to be a Wizard. At first Nita felt silly, believing such thing. But, there was no harm in trying it out. From the moment she took the Oath her life completely changed and she now follows a path of adventure and different universes. She must fight for Earth.

The book was first published in 1983. It isn't old enough to be a classic, but it is old. Surprisingly the only relation to its age can be found with the number next to the date published.

Saturday, 23 June 2012

Inheritance Cycle by Cristopher Paolini




"Knowing is independent of being. I did not know you existed before you bumbled in here and ruined my nap. Yet that doesn't mean you weren't real before you woke me."  - Solembum 
Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. This series, previously meant to be a trilogy, is an epic fantasy series intended for young adults. Eragon  has no idea of who his mother or father are, instead he lives with his uncle, Garrow, and cousin, Roran, which to him they are his father and brother. Eragon helps in the farm as well as with the hunting. One day while hunting he finds a mysterious stone, no one knows what it is but it is fascinating. To his surprise the 'stone' hatches, it was a dragon's egg. Eragon has to flee, learn magic and mature if he is to fulfil his destiny, to become the next dragon rider and kill Galbatorix; the merciless and powerful dictator of the fictional world of Alagaesia


 Like many books the Inheritance cycle ponders on the coexistence of good and bad. Eragon himself realises that people might not be generally bad but really do believe their ideas to be beneficial. When Galbatorix talked to Nasuada about his plans there seemed to be some really good basis to what he wanted to achieve. Of course Galbatorix didn't care for people and manipulated them making him the 'baddy' however he made very good points, especially the fact that it was the Varden that went around killing people and then bashed Galbatorix for his cruelty. How do we know if what we believe in is really for the good of humanity? I may believe in something so profoundly that I do not realise that I'm hurting others or it may be that I am hurting others to help the many but in truth there is no line separating the good from the bad but a mix of both in everything.

Sunday, 10 June 2012

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee


"Mockingbirds don't do one thing but make music for us to enjoy... but sing their hearts out for us. That's why it's a sin to kill a mockingbird." 



To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee is a classic book. It is told by Scout as she looks back at her childhood, during the great depression in a Southern town of the USA. The second part follows the story of the court case of Tom Robinson and how he is judged unfairly because of his skin colour.

At the time of release this book was controversial; bashed by some and praised by others. Even now it is still  banned in some U.S states. Nevertheless it is now a classic and with the title of classic comes words such as 'ancient', 'educative'and probably 'boring'. To me, it was no exception. I was told to read for school. I was handed an old looking book and listened with dread as other students recounted how boring they bound it. Eventually when I started reading (I had to, there was a test coming up!) I found myself actually enjoying this book. I didn't think it was the best book ever written as my teacher said but it was definitely a book I would keep reading with or without a test.

Friday, 8 June 2012

The Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter

"I suppose a lot of teenage girls feel invisible sometimes, like they just disappear. Well, that's me—Cammie the Chameleon. But I'm luckier than most because, at my school, that's considered cool. I go to a school for spies."

Cammie Morgan attends the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women. Although the school  appears to be an ordinary private school it is actually a girls' school for spies. Cammie is fluent in 14 languages and can kill a  man in seven different ways. She has been taught advanced martial arts and knows about the latest chemical warfare but she definitely doesn't know how to understand boys.

Monday, 4 June 2012

Heist Society by Ally Carter

“I don't want tea, I want justice!” 

Heist Society and its sequel Uncommon Criminals by Ally Carter is a teen spy fiction. Katarina Bishop comes from a family of thieves.Kat tries to escape this life and scams herself into a boarding school where she plans to study and live a normal, honest life. This proves harder than she expected it to be. When her father is blamed for the thievery of major artworks she must be called back in action to clear his name and return the portraits to its original owners. If I say too much more it will spoil the rest of the book but lets just say that by the second book she is back in business but this time alone. She is only stealing what is already stolen, so it isn't bad is it? When she goes back to her family she must face trust issues and when she runs into trouble she starts doubting her skills.

Thursday, 26 April 2012

The Chronicles of Vladimir Todd by Heather Brewer


“If citizens followed their leaders' example throughout history, the human race would have died out centuries ago.”― Ninth Grade Slays
The Chronicles of Vladimir Todd by Heather Brewer follows the story of Vladimir Todd from eighth grade through to twelfth grade. Vlad goes to school like a normal boy and encounters all the problems of a normal boy, from bullying to stress from homework; however he is not normal at all. Vladimir has a big secret, he is a vampire. His parents died and so he lives in the care of Nelly, his mother's best friend. Although he doesn't  want to hurt anyone he can't help being who he is, not even him knows the full extent of his powers. When a substitute teacher comes into the scene he thinks his cover will be blown. Even worse he thinks that the teacher knows more than he should and was connected to his parents' death.    

Thursday, 12 April 2012

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live, remember that.  ~J.K. 

I will write a very brief summary especially as this series is so well known that it doesn't need big introduction. 

On a special night a wizard boy was born with a heroic destiny set out for him. He was the chosen one. He was the only one who ever survived Voldemort's attack. Harry is left with his uncle and aunty who mistreat him because of their fear of all things magic. Harry only finds out he is a wizard on his 11th birthday and from then he finds himself in all kinds of trouble in his new school, Hogwarts. 


Monday, 2 April 2012

Don't Breathe a Word by Marianne Musgrove



'Kenzie! This is no joke. You have to promise never to breathe a word of it. You know what's at stake.'

Don’t Breathe a Word is a short non-fiction book written by Marianne Musgrove. It is about two sisters, Tahlia and Kenzie, which live with their grandpa because their parents died. Everything was fine until Grandpa starts doing strange things like walking in the middle of the night and saying things that don’t make sense. Kenzie and Tahlia promise not to tell anyone because if Grandpa goes to a nursing home, where would they go? The only problem is that their older half-sister starts to suspect that something is wrong and it’s only a matter of time before someone finds out…

Tuesday, 27 March 2012

Torn by Amanda Hocking (Trylle Series)



This will be a short one. BTW if you haven't read the first in the series read our blog on the first book before you read this one :)http://teen-book-review.blogspot.com.au/2012/02/switched-by-amanda-hocking.html


"They'd only shared a few moments together, but she'd made him feel more than he ever had in his entire life."

Torn by Amanda Hocking. This is the second book in the Trylle series. Wendy had reached home but she wasn't to stay long. The Vittra came for her... Why do they want her? Through this book she finds a deeper connection to the Vittra rivals. When she thought she was beginning to get a handle on who she was she finds out that what she knew was just the tip of the iceberg. She is betrothed to one, in love with another and can't stop thinking about someone else. She will have to make the ultimate step and choose between her heart and her kingdom. 


This book was just like the first addictive. It was longer, in term of pages, but it felt really short to read. Although another mystery is uncovered it is obvious to see that this book does not have a very complicated plot. The story itself is quite simple however I found myself believing in those characters and feeling for them. There is nothing better than to immerse yourself in a world that you really believe those characters are real. Amanda Hocking doesn't have a very complex story nor is her writing style the best but she manages to make the story emotional to the readers and that is what I think counts. Just to add to this I was expecting more of the "Bonus Story Inside" mentioned but it was actually just a few extra chapters.

Wednesday, 14 March 2012

Wake Unto Me by Lisa Cach


“ You cannot doubt me,” he said, his mouth hovering above hers, “ when it is you who may not be real.”

Wake unto Me by Lisa Cach. The plot of this story is so complicated and has so many layers that it would be hard to give the right idea of this plot without spoiling the ending. Basically the book follows the story of Caitlyn. Caytlin doesn’t fit in; she feels that she doesn’t belong. She has horrible nightmares that she calls ‘Screechers’ who visit her every night. Things change when she gets a scholarship to a private school in France. There is also another thing; she started having very realistic dreams set in Medieval time where she finds her true love. Is he even real? Her new school has a big mystery, she has a big mystery. Caytlin must make sense of her life and how all these mysteries, from her dreams to the school join together if she wants to understand her own life.

Saturday, 10 March 2012

The Worry Tree by Marianne Musgrove

The Worry Tree was written by Marianne Musgrove. It is about a 10 year old girl named Juliet. She is very organised but also very worried that she is the only decent person in her family. Her 7-year-old sister, Ophelia (Oaf), annoys Juliet so much that she moves to a separate room. When Juliet and her Nana were redecorating her bedroom she found a mysterious picture of a tree that was hidden behind the wallpaper for many decades.

Hush Hush Saga by Becca Fitzpatrick


"Love finds its way into the coldest hearts, darkest minds and loneliest of souls"

The Hush Hush Saga by Becca Fitzpatrick. The series is composed of, Hush Hush, Crescendo and Silence (or Tempest as it was previously known.) Nora's life changes dramatically from the moment she laid eyes on Patch. Patch has a dark secret and it doesn't help that Nora is very much attracted to him. She wants to know more but the truth may end up pulling her into the centre of even more trouble. Her normal everyday life turns into a bumpy ride full of angels, nephilims and love.

The hush hush saga was an enthralling fantasy series.

Wednesday, 7 March 2012

A good Arriving by David McRobbie


"I learnt there are two sorts of kindness. One of them's nice to look at fora time, but it's rotten inside. The other one's true and honest, like the kind Helen gives."


A Good Arriving by David McRobbie. This book is set in the 1830s. Helen had a wonderful family, education and what now seems a blooming romance. However after the Duke decides he will not renew the lease of the farm's in their area, including their farm everything falls apart. Helen is separated from the people she loves and must work as someone's servant. After facing one obstacle after the other she returns to her family to find out that her father has died. The family's economical states gets even worse. A nice doctor comes along and helps them out. Helen starts working for him and his wife, taking care of their baby. They invite her to go with them to Australia to live. Helen reluctantly agrees. However on the ship things start unraveling. The doctor is not who he seems to be and anyone that is close to Helen suffers. The journey to Australia is now a journey to survive.

One-Way Ticket by Iona McNaughton

"The longer we stay here the harder it is for me to see you. Your outline, skin that marks you off melts in this light."

One-way ticket by Iona McNaughton. Meg is Canadian, she was born and raised there. Her father is from New Zealand and when Meg's mother dies his homesickness worsens. He wants to go back to the place of his childhood memories, where his family lives. However Meg does not want to leave, her friends and everything she knows is there. Her grand parents offer to pay for an one-way ticket for the two. Meg refuses at first but later agrees to move to New Zealand but in the condition that it is only until september when year 10 starts, and if by that period if she still doesn't like it they will go back to Canada. While in New Zealand she makes a friend who betrays her and her father starts falling in love.

Friday, 2 March 2012

Snowy: the Diary of Eva Fischer by Siobhán McHugh

Snowy: the Diary of Eva Fischer is part of the 'My Story' series and was written by Siobhán McHugh. This book is about Eva Fischer who is a half German girl. Eva and her parents lived in Sydney until she was 11 years old. In 1958 they move to Cabramurra, a small city in Australia, so her dad could work in the Snowy Scheme. Although this was after the war, some people still believed that the Germans were 'The Enemies'. She meets new people and sees that Cabramurra is more multicultural than Sydney.

Thursday, 1 March 2012

Sweet Little Lies by Lauren Conrad


" Don't cry over someone who wouldn't cry over you." - Lauren Conrad


Sweet Little Lies by Lauren Conrad. This is the second installment of the L.A Candy series. Jane Roberts went from a nobody to a big somebody when she landed her on reality TV show. In this novel she must learn to cope with hard relationships. From best friends to drunken boyfriends.She had moved to L.A. with her best friend Scarlett to experiment new things and to get out of her comfort zone. However when racy photos of her are leaked it's way over her comfort zone. Her world starts to fall apart. She distances herself from the people who care about her and gets closer to all the wrong people.
While this is going on Scarlett is also having major problems. Falling in love with someone strictly off-limits and when her best friend is not there for her she is alone and with a big secret. Both girls start to wonder if being in a reality show is what they want.

I actually read the 2nd book before the 1st but the novel still made complete sense. I had no idea who Lauren Conrad was when I picked up the book but with her name covering nearly half the actual cover it was obvious she had to someone famous and probably a celebrity (not even J.K Rowling has her name the big). Of course reading a celebrity's novel you can't expect too much as they sell and get published just because of their status. With low expectations I went on to read the book. The writing style was not the best (as expected) and the first chapter was not quite dull. However after the first few chapters I had become so interested in the story and the plot I just wanted to finish it. I certainly had a few mini-heart attacks because on how tense the plot is.

Monday, 27 February 2012

QUESTIONS

If you have any questions about a book please ask by clicking on the title 'questions'.

Saturday, 25 February 2012

Abandon by Meg Cabot

"So take my advice: Whatever you do- Don't blink." - Abandon
Abandon by Meg Cabot., a youth fantasy book.  This is the story of Pierce, a girl who knows what it is like to be dead.

After drowning and running away from the underworld everything is going downhill. Was everything she experienced just a dream? Pierce's mother blames her husband on letting their daughter drown and so after a divorce Pierce and her mother move to Isla Huesos where her mum's family lives. She is in a whole new place, with new people and a new school all she wants is to make her mother happy and start over. However trouble seems to follow wherever she goes and his name is John Hayden. John is not the normal teenage boy, he is Lord of the Underworld. She knows he is dangerous for her but she is still drawn to him and he wants her back to the Underworld. She must learn that danger can be found anywhere in anyone she can not trust not even her grandmother.

Lulu Baker Trilogy by Fiona Dunbar

The trilogy, Lulu Baker by Fiona Dunbar. It is a series about cooking and magic. When Lulu's mother is dead and her father is dating ex-supermodel, Varaminta, her life is really problematic.

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

“There is only one thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve: the fear of failure.” - The alchemist
The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho is a story about a young shepherd, Santiago and his quest to live his dream or to live his personal legend as they call it in the novel.

Switched by Amanda Hocking

This is my first blog entry and I don't think I could have chosen a better book to write on. 
Switched by Amanda Hockings is the first book to the Trylle trilogy. It follows the story of a 17 year old girl, Wendy, who discovers that she is a 'changeling'.